Nomination period now open for EY Entrepreneur Of The Year 2020 Estonia!

The nomination period for EY Entrepreneur Of The Year 2020 Estonia is now open. The winner, who will go on to represent Estonia at the World Entrepreneur Of The Year Awards in Monte Carlo, will be announced on 12 March 2020.

The competition is open to all business owners whose company has been operational for at least 3 years, employs at least 10 people and posted a turnover exceeding €2 million in the last financial year.

“The aim of the competition is to celebrate entrepreneurs who have set a positive role model. There is a multitude of challenges facing the entrepreneurs on their path: they have to learn to adapt, for example, to the transforming business models associated with the spread of digital services, and take responsibility for environmental and climate problems. To stand out in this constantly changing environment, entrepreneurs need to make smart choices while ensuring their company will make a positive impact,“ EY Partner Ranno Tingas explained.

More and more Estonian entrepreneurs are making a name for themselves abroad, signifying the importance of international reach. Take, for example, Norris Koppel who was named EY Entrepreneur Of The Year 2019 in the London & South East region. He won the hearts of the local judging panel with his pioneering ideas and a business model that drives change within a very traditional industry.

EY Entrepreneur Of The Year 2019 Estonia was Tõnis Kaasik, the owner of Ecometal AS, an environmentally-oriented company recycling lead-acid batteries. The Lifetime Achievement Award laureate was Jüri Kraft, founder of the legendary Sangar, a true flagship of the Estonian clothing industry.

“Every so often, it is time to pause, take a step back, try to see whether the chosen direction is the right one for you and make adjustments, if necessary. Participating in the EY Entrepreneur Of The Year competition gives you a wonderful opportunity to compare yourself with leaders of other industries, exchange experiences and learn from the best. Getting recognized motivates me to work even harder,“ declared Kaasik, who also said that winning the tile has led to useful business contacts and drawn positive attention to the company.

The candidates will be interviewed and judged by an independent judging panel made up of key influencers from the business community who are actively involved in the field and understand the opportunities and difficulties of the modern entrepreneur. Members of the judging panel include Aavo Kokk, Marika Priske, Meelis Atonen, Reet Roos, Viljar Arakas, Kaidi Ruusalepp and Tõnis Kaasik.

Previous winners:

  • 2018 – Martin and Markus Villig (Bolt)
  • 2017 – Arno Kütt and Peep Kuld (Cleveron AS)
  • 2015 – Jevgeni Kabanov (ZeroTurnaround AS)
  • 2014 – Jüri Raidla (Ellex Raidla Advokaadibüroo OÜ)
  • 2013 – Peeter and Priit Rebane (BDG Holdings OÜ)
  • 2012 – Ruth Oltjer (Chemi-Pharm AS)
  • 2011 – Priit Alamäe and Taavi Kotka (Webmedia Group AS)
  • 2010 – Peter Hunt (Wendre AS)
  • 2009 – Indrek Sepp (Pristis AS)
  • 2008 – Jaan Puusaag (Krimelte OÜ)

EY World Entrepreneur Of The Year celebrates its 20th anniversary in 2020 and it is the 12th year the program has been running in Estonia.

EY Entrepreneur Of The Year Estonia is organized in cooperation with Lexus, LHV, Creditinfo and Postimees Grupp.

To apply for the competition, please send an email with your name and company name to

Additional information about EY Entrepreneur Of The Year Estonia is available at (in Estonian)

Additional information:

Ranno Tingas

EY Partner


Telephone: +372 611 4578

Heidi Jalakas

Head of Marketing and Communication at EY Estonia


Telephone: +372 502 7010